563 Miller Road, South Windsor, CT 06074


By joining CTAHPERD you can enhance your professional growth and give back to your professional community. JOIN NOW!

By Mail


Opportunities for Leadership

Are you ready to take an active  role in the success of your professional association?

Our organization provides several types of leadership development opportunities:

Elected Officer on Executive Council

Members may be nominated by peers or volunteer to run for the following offices: President Elect, Vice President Elect for Health, Physical Education, Recreation, Dance, Secretary, and Treasurer. Contact the current President or Executive Director, Connie Kapral, with your nomination at ckapral@ctahperd.org. The call for nominations closes February 1 yearly.

Committee Service

Volunteers are invited to participate on a standing committee: Awards, Bylaws, Legislative Action/Advocacy, Public Relations, and Strategic Plan or on a Presidential Committee or Ad Hoc Committee. If you would like to be considered for a committee, contact the current President about your interest.

Workshop Presentations

Presenters share best professional practices and knowledge of specific topics with peers. Regional Workshops are offered throughout the year by our members. Contact the Regional Director Coordinator, Laura Fiore, if you would like to offer your service. (P.O. Box 655, Oxford, CT 06478)


CTAHPERD publishes two print issues of The Bulletin – Fall and Spring. Members are invited to submit activities/experiences that have worked very well in the classroom and/or research based articles. Submission deadlines are September 15 and April 15. An electronic issue is planned for  Winter 2018 – deadline for submissions is January 15, 2018. Contact Bulletin Editor, Dr. David Harackiewicz, at harackiewicz@ccsu.edu to submit your article.

Officers 2017-2018


Jan G. Bishop
Central CT State University
New Britain, CT 06050
Email: bishop@ctahperd.org

Past President

Ann Marie Colebrook
Glastonbury Public Schools
Glastonbury, CT 06033
Email: colebrook@ctahperd.org

President Elect

Karen Bosworth
Cromwell Middle School
Cromwell, CT 06416
Email: bosworth@ctahperd.org


Cindy Dysenchuk
Glastonbury High School
Glastonbury, CT 06033

Treasurer (non-voting)

Ellen Benham
Adjunct Instructor CCSU
New Britain, CT 06050

Bulletin Editor (non-voting)

David Harackiewicz
Central CT State University
New Britain, CT 06050

Community Service Coordinator

Eric Uthgenannt (JRFH)
Skinner Road School
Vernon, CT 06066

Community Service Coordinator

Kathy Marone (HFH)
Harborside Middle School
Milford, CT 06460

Office Manager (Non voting)

Kathy Nauber
City Hill Middle School
Naugatuck, CT 06770
Email: knauber@ctahperd.org

Student Advisor

Cathy Berei
Southern CT State University
New Haven, CT 06515

Vice President Health

Katherine Leslie
Martin Kellogg MS
Newington, CT 06111

Vice President Physical Education

Amanda Amtmanis
Spencer School
Middletown, CT 06457

Vice President Recreation

John Battista
University Supervisor CCSU
New Britain, CT 06050

Vice President Dance

Jennifer Mitteness
Staples High School
Westport, CT 06880

Vice President Elect Health

Christie Cardinale
Westport Public Schools
Westport, CT 06880

Vice President Elect Physical Education

Steve Pernal
Regional School District #8
East Haddam, CT 06469

Vice President Elect Recreation

Alicia Potash
Physical Educator
Salem, CT 06420

Vice President Elect Dance

Michael Ginicola
Nichols Elementary School
Stratford, CT 06614

Student Representative(s)

Emily Burg, ECSU
Katie Burke, SCSU
Michaela Roman, SCSU

Executive Director (non-voting)

Connie Kapral
563 Miller Road
South Windsor, CT 06074
E-mail: ckapral@ctahperd.org

Regions Committee Members (non-voting)
Regional Directors Coordinator

Laura Fiore
P.O. Box 655
Oxford, CT 06478

Region I Coordinator

Amanda Amtmanis
Spencer School
Middletown, CT 06457

Region II Coordinator

Douglas Marchetti
Norwalk High School
Norwalk, CT 06851
203.838.4481 ext262

Region III Coordinator

Lisa Galske
South Side Elementary
Bristol, CT 06010

Region IV Coordinator:

Barbara Brooks
Nathan Hale School
37 Beech Drove
New London, CT 06320

Region V Coordinator


Region VI Coordinator

Steve Dreger
Head O’Meadow School
94 Boggs Hill Road
Newtown, CT 06470